The Dream Man

34zer9iHave you ever dreamed of a peculiar, male face that gives you advice about your personal life? Well, it’s estimated that over 2,000 people have dreamed about this particular face according to multiple psychologists. The scary part about this is that they have all drawn out or described the same exact man, and he doesn’t even exist. It all started in January, 2006 in New York. The patient of a well-known psychiatrist drew the face of a man who has been repeatedly appearing in her dreams. In more than one occasion that man has given her advice on her private life. The woman swears she has never met the man in her life. The portrait laid forgotten on the psychiatrist’s desk for a few weeks until another patient spots it and recognizes the face. He also reported to the psychiatrist that the man has often visited him in his dreams and that he has never seen that man in his waking life. thismancomp

Knowing that the two patients have no relations with each other, his curiosity of the situation becomes too great to simply neglect. Instead he shows the portrait of the man’s face to all of his patients and colleagues, and within a few months, 4 different patients report that they have had recurring dreams of that same exact man, including that the man gives them advice on their personal affairs. From 2006 up until now, about 2,000 people have claimed that this man has visited their dreams, especially to those who have been experiencing personal struggles. These people are from various cities all over the world, such as Los Angeles, Berlin, Sao Paulo, Tehran, Beijing, Rome, Barcelona, Stockholm, Paris, New Delhi, and Moskow.

Some of the victims have shared their experiences and are published on http://www.thisman.org “The first time I had a dream about this man I was having a hard time at work. I had a dream about getting lost in a huge and deserted shopping mall. Suddenly this man appeared and I startetumblr_n3g4viqeQr1rigcdho1_500d running away from him. He chased after me for what seemed like an hour until I found myself against a wall in the kids’ area in a supermarket. At this point he smiled at me and he showed me the way out towards the cash desks and I woke up. Ever since that night this man has appeared in all of my dreams and he always gives me directions to get out of the dream and wake up.” There are many other reports that indicate a supportive aura that the man gives off in various dreams, no matter the situation.

But not all of the dreams are so friendly.“I dreamt of this man when I was in the 10th grade. He hasn’t been in any recurring dreams just one very memorable and terrifying dream. In my dream I was stuck in a room sitting on a stool. A few feet away from me there was a television set. I was ‘visited’ by two men I had never tumblr_ma54eslzub1rsua6to1_500seen before (not ‘this man’) and they both attacked me. I woke up covered in sweat and tears and I was screaming. I somehow fell asleep then I found myself back in the room. I started screaming and crying. Then This Man showed up on the screen. I begged him to not harm me. He didn’t change his blank expression or speak. He slit my throat and I woke up. I suppose he let me out of the nightmare but I couldn’t stop thinking about him for weeks. I still have some of the sketches I drew of him. I know it’s kind of weird.” A lot of other patients have described this man as violent, homicidal maniac. I guess only a few are lucky to get the non-nightmare version of the man in their dreams.

Several theories have been developed to explain the mysteriously recurring presence of this man in the dreams of different people who are not related in any way, such as the Archetype Theory, the Religious Theory, and the Dream-Surfer Theory. The Archetype Theory folltumblr_static_tumblr_static_9zj5jhtzwagwss4owo8s0owk8_640ows Jung’s psychoanalytic theory, that this man is an archetypal image belonging to humanity’s collective unconscious that can surface in times of various hardships (emotional development, dramatic changes in our lives, stressful circumstancarl_jung-glassesces, etc.) in particularly sensitive subjects. The Religious Theory claims that the Dream Man is the image of the Creator and that he is just one of the forms in which God manifests himself today. This would be the reason why his indications and the advice he gives during the dreams should be decidedly followed by the dreamers. The Dream-Surfer Theory is probably the most interesting theory and the one that has the greatest implications, but it has also the lowest scientific credibility. According to this theory this man is a real-live person, who can enter people’s dreams by means of specific psychological skills. Some believe that in real life this man looks like the man in the dreams. Others think that the man in the dreams looks completely different from his real life counterpart. Some people seem to believe that behind this man there is a ment25103267al conditioning plan developed by a major corporation. No one knows for sure why multiple individuals have dreamed of the same exact man, especially when he doesn’t even exist, and we probably will never know for certain. I have never dreamed of this man personally, but if you have, I would love to hear your story (especially if it’s a nightmare).

11 thoughts on “The Dream Man

Leave a Reply

